Russian National Orchestra

RNO Percussion Ensemble

The RNO Percussion Ensemble plays with the full force and elegantly coordinated movements of four classically trained percussionists. Led by ensemble founder and co-principal Ilia Melikhov, the ensemble includes Alexander Suvorov, Vitaly Martyanov and Kirill Lukyanenko.

The ensemble performs a diverse range of melodic and ethnic music, ranging from classical, jazz and popular styles, to European, Asian and traditional Caribbean music composed for a vast assortment of percussion instruments: marimba, vibraphone, and xylophone; bass drum, bongos, toms, conga, and snare drums; gongs, cow-bells, tambourines, chimes, blocks and more.

Their repertoire is deployed in duos, trios, quartets and occasionally solos, illustrating the percussionists’ skills and art.  Some video samples are embedded below.


Rush Out by Taiki Nishihara.
Percussion duo (duration 10’), performed by Ilya Melikhov and Vitaly Martyanov


Trio per Uno by Neboisha Zivkovich
Percussion trio (duration 5’),Performed by Ilya Melikhov and his students.


Asventuras by Alexei Gerrassimec
Snare drum solo (duration 6’), Performed by Ilya Melikhov


The RNO Percussion Ensemble also teaches master classes while on tour, as in this master class at the University of Nebraska.