István Várdai


Performances with the RNO

January 2015

On Tour

23 Fri

Kodály Concert Hall



Prelude from the suite From the Middle Ages
Cello Concerto No. 2 in G major, Op. 126
Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op.64

Mikhail Pletnev

Guest Artist:

István Várdai, Cello

2015 European Tours

What They’re Saying

"To present American and Russian musicians performing and teaching together at Festival Napa precisely the kind of effort that sustains vital cultural a critical time for both societies. [This] resonates with the public [and] is meaningful for the musician participants...Cultural diplomacy and music offer alternatives to contention and sustain important linkages between our societies for the long run...Now more than ever we need viable citizen-to-citizen points of contact and dialogue."

James F. Collins (Ambassador Ret.)

Senior Fellow, Russia and Eurasia Program, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace