Press Acclaim

Buy this item
Glazunov, Kabalevsky & Tchaikovsky (Gil Shaham)
Violin Concerto in A minor, op.82
Violin Concerto in C major, op.48
Souvenir d' un lieu cher, op.42
Valse-Scherzo, op.34
Gil Shaham, soloist / Mikhail Pletnev, conductor
DG 457 064-2 (1996)

Acclaim for Glazunov, Kabalevsky & Tchaikovsky (Gil Shaham)

"Musically, a heads of state meeting of the superpowers takes place on this sensational disc, featuring American violinist Gil Shaham with Mikhail Pletnev and his Russian National Orchestra. The two, short, little-played concertos are out of the Tchaikovsky tradition: the Glazunov luxuriously melodic, the Kabalevsky a stunning piece with a touch of Shostakovich-like acid. Tchaikovsky pieces complete the disc. The performances are out of this world."

The Herald (Glasgow, UK) (March 1998)

"... The orchestral playing here is impressively clean and often radiantly beautiful. The Tchaikovsky Souvenir d'un lieu cher is heard in Glazunov's orchestration and the Valse-scherzo wraps things up in skittering, suitably dazzling fashion. ... Heard live, such a performance would bring the house down."

Gramophone (January 1998)

"Gil Shaham's sound gleams and flashes through the acrobatic cavortings of Kabalevsky's Concerto. The remarkable flute-like effect produced in the rapid, quiet runs in the second movement is as magical as his legerdemain elsewhere is scintillating. Shaham's sound revives memories of Nathan Milstein; so, too, does the confidently aristocratic demeanour he brings to the other works heard here. ... Shaham and Pletnev offer a scrupulous account of the Glazunov Concerto. ... If you like sleek, high-energy playing, this disc is an exciting one."

BBC Music

What They’re Saying

"The Russian National Orchestra's performances are as close to perfect as one could hope for."

Trinity Mirror, England