Press Acclaim

Buy this item
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6
Symphony No.6 in B minor--Pathétique, op.74
Marche slave, op.31
Mikhail Pletnev, conductor
Gramophone List: The 100 Greatest Recordings
Virgin 759 66121 (1991)

Acclaim for Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6

Gramophone List: The 100 Greatest Recordings
" Another jaw-dropping experience from Pletnev and his crack Russian National Orchestra: a really complete Pathétique."

Gramophone (December 2005)

"It takes a pretty special "Pathétique" to make a London critic sit up these days, but special is the word here... There's poetry, subtlety, mood-painting that is rich but never over-ripe and - yes - dignity. The revelations don't stop there. No one should be surprised to hear that a Russian orchestra can be soul-stirring, but the tonal sophistication and superbly judged balance are something new."

The Observer, London

" awe-inspiring experience. Should human beings be able to play like this?"


What They’re Saying

"The Russian National Orchestra has to count as a major miracle."

Time Out New York