Press Acclaim

Buy this item
Dvorak: Slavonic Dances Op. 46 & 72
Slavonic Dances, op.46 and 72
Mikhail Pletnev, conductor
DG 447 056-2 (1994)

Acclaim for Dvorak: Slavonic Dances Op. 46 & 72

"...Mikhail Pletnev and the Russian National Orchestra add to their store of fine recordings for DG with this distinctive and highly enjoyable version of Dvorak's colourful dances. ... At times with such refined playing one might even dub Pletnev's approach as Mozartian, with elegance a regular element, and with even the wildest furiants kept under control. The crispness of ensemble and clarity of texture give a sharpness of focus to prevent any idea that these are performances lacking in bite. ... Dynamic contrasts are sharply defined through all the dances, and Pletnev and his Russian players consistently make one marvel at the beauty of the instrumentation. ... This is a disc to give a fresh view of well-loved music."

Gramophone (November 1995)

"The drama is brought out to the full. Again and again one is amazed by this marvelous orchestra that, within a short period, has...become one of the world's best."

Pizzicato, Luxembourg

What They’re Saying

"They played with such captivating beauty that the audience let out an involuntary sigh of pleasure at the end."

Evening Standard, London