Press Acclaim

Buy this item
Tchaikovsky & Conus: Violin Concertos (David Garrett)
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D-major, op. 35
Jules Conus
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in E minor
David Garrett, violin
Mikhail Pletnev, conductor

Acclaim for Tchaikovsky & Conus: Violin Concertos (David Garrett)

"'s almost a shock to hear [Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto] played with such poetic subtlety... There is power and brilliance when needed, but Pletnev is also a marvelously discreet accompanist, highlighting a tiny phrase here, a touch of color there, but never setting himself up in competition to Garrett. As for Garrett himself - well, there's plenty to admire technically, but it's refreshing to hear a performance that charms the listener into the music rather than grabbing him or her by the lapels. "

BBC Music Magazine (March 2002)

"This is emotive Tchaikovsky playing, thoughtful but conversational... an agile and personable reading."

Gramophone (February 2002)

What They’re Saying

"Classical music [has the] singular power to transform, unite and liberate. There is perhaps no orchestra in the world that personifies those ideals like the RNO."

Palm Beach Illustrated